Starting Snapdragons

Now that the grow lamps are set up, I can start preparing my snapdragon seeds. I placed the packet of seeds in the freezer two days ago, since this supposedly helps with germination.

Snapdragon Seeds.jpg

Snapdragon seeds need light to germinate, so I prepared a tray with wet seed starting mix and sprinkled about 50 seeds on top.  Using plastic wrap, I sealed the tray and pressed the seeds into the growing medium.

Snapdragon seeds 2.jpg

Some say that snapdragon seeds will germinate at 60 degrees F, others at 80 degrees F.  I’ll try the warmer temperature for this batch of snapdragons.  Once these begin to show true leaves, I’ll separate them into grow pots. For now, we wait the 10-14 days to see if anything germinates!

Leave a Reply

